Philosophy #119

“One should never judge anything unless it is known.”
René Descartes, Meditations and Other Metaphysical Writings

rene4.1

Why is it that we are always afraid of the things that we do not understand? And why do we judge them as if we knew exactly what they meant? This quote brought so many scenarios to my head of people judging other cultures, beliefs, likes and dislikes. It is such a terrible thing that instead of trying to know more about something that we are ignorant about, we rigorously judge it. I truly do not care if you are blue, red, yellow or green for that matter; we are humans and we are in this process of remembering, together.

I cannot deny that in the past, I did my share of judging others by the way they treated me; but I quickly realize that the way somebody else treats their fellow human beings is a reflection of how they grew up. Still to this day, I have to be extremely careful to understand something more in-depth before I can give my opinion.

If you think about this quote a little bit more, you could come to the realization that we all experience our existence through the glasses of our parents or through the glasses of the person that raised us. It is such a difficult thing to take other people’s glasses off and create your own.

I am a firm believer, that the more you know about a subject, the more room you have to give your opinion. There is no sense in opening your mouth if you are ignorant to the subject. This brings to mine darkness: why people fear the dark? They do not even understand it, so why be afraid of something that you do not even understand or give yourself the time to know more about it. In the other hand, they embrace the light without question. They welcome it without knowing that spark of light was once a big part of the darkness that they now fear and judge.

The solution to all of this is so simple: tolerance. We need to tolerate the ones around us; the cultures, the different ways of thinking (as long as nobody is being hurt or abuse) and the different beliefs about a certain subject.

So next time you or anyone tries to be judgmental, think, analyze your opinion before you let it see the light of the day. Once again, Descartes left me with more thoughts and question not only about the world that I am experiencing, but about my judgments, my way of thinking and even why I allowed others to kill my dreams in the past.

Remember, “One should never judge anything unless it is known.” If you do not know everything about it, then you cannot crucify it with your judging. Cultivate your tolerance and you will start seeing a big difference in the way you see the world. Be kind to yourself, but most importantly, to others. You do not need to agree with others in order to understand them. Let us step out of our shoes for a while, and see a different world.

Let us dissipate the poisonous cloud of criticism that is suffocating our existence and that is dividing us more as the years pass us by.

Leave your thoughts about this quote, I am intrigued to read how you perceive this quote or how you can dissect it further. Thank you and don’t forget to think, for a thing will be just a thing, until you think beyond that thing.

Copyright © 2017 Manuel Osornio-emotionsoflife2016

Image source Google

Stay Connected!!!

Instagram:@_emotions_of_life_2016

Twitter: @emotionsoflife1

patreon_icon

Thank you for considering supporting emotionsoflife2016 on Patreon! You make this blog possible

10 thoughts on “Philosophy #119”

  1. Nice post. I definitely get a vibe about tolerance from this quote. What it made me think of was religion. How different beliefs are judged by non believers or just people of different faiths. I don’t think anyone’s philosophies should be judged until the “judge” in question takes the time to learn more about the belief they are mocking. Unless a philosophy involves hurting people, then I’m okay with it. I think it was Saint Thomas Aquinas(but I’m not sure) who said that the only way to really know God is to realize that we will never know him fully. And that’s what I believe – that all the different beliefs are just small facets of God and no belief system is complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great thought process again, dear M.
    I think we humans all judge and that is ok, as long as we use it as a tool to learn from each other. I agree with you, as soon as the judgement becomes about accusing/condemning and leads to intolerance and even worse violence, we use or judgement the wrong way.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

